UK's Electronic Travel
Authorisation (ETA) scheme
now open for Qatari nationals

Effective 15 November 2023, Qatari nationals require an Electronic Travel Authorisation (ETA) to travel to the United Kingdom.

ETA applications have been open to Qatari nationals since 25 October 2023.

Nationals of the remaining Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) states (Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Saudi Arabia and United Arab Emirates) and Jordan will need an ETA if they’re visiting the UK from 22 February 2024, and can apply for their ETA from 1 February 2024. It will be expanded worldwide throughout 2024.

The move to the ETA scheme means that the visa requirement will be removed for nationals from GCC states and Jordan.

The ETA, which allows multiple entry to the UK over a two-year period, applies to those visiting or transiting through the UK who do not need a visa for short stays, or who do not currently hold another UK visa. Currently, Gulf nationals pay £30 per visit to the UK under the current Electronic Visa Wavier (EVW) scheme and Jordanian nationals £100 for a visit visa.

When applying for an ETA, applicants need to provide biographic and biometric information, and answer questions on suitability and criminality. Once individuals have successfully applied, their ETA is digitally linked to their passport.

While the standard processing time for an application is three working days, government sources claim that the majority of applications so far have been decided within hours.

Full guidance on applying for an ETA can be found here.

If you have any questions, please contact Smith Stone Walters for more information.

Share story
Back to top of page